SIAC Hosts Media Day at the College Football Hall of Fame

Written By: Thomas Scott 

July 11, 2017

For the first time, the SIAC held their Media Day at the College Football Hall of Fame located in the heart of downtown Atlanta.

Each school in the conference was represented by their Head Coach and two designated student athletes. Together each team conducted interview sessions with various media outlets.

Prior to media day there were polls conducted to determine the predicted order of finish, Pre-Season Offensive & Defensive Players of the Year, and the Pre-Season All-Conference Teams. All votes were submitted by SIAC Head Coaches and Sports Information Directors.

Predicted Order of Finish

Last season both Kentucky State and Fort Valley made it to the SIAC Championship; this season neither school is predicted to win their division. Tuskegee was picked to win the West Division with 75 total points and 11 first-place votes.  Albany State was picked in the East Division with 65 total points and six first-place votes. A full prediction of the standings can be seen below.

Pre-Season Offensive Player of the Year

Quarterback Jonathan McCrary of Clark Atlanta was selected as the SIAC  Preseason Offensive Player of the Year. The red shirt senior looks to build on his solid debut with the Panthers. Last season he threw for 1,903 yards and led the league with 14 touchdown passes.

Pre-Season Defensive Player of the Year

 Last season, Osband Thompson of Tuskegee University was the most dominant player defensive player in the conference. He was named the 2016 SIAC Defensive Player of the Year and the Division 2 Conference Comissioners Association (D2CCA) Super Region 2 Defensive Player of the Year. This year Thompson hopes to lead the Golden Tigers deep into the Playoffs.

For a complete listing of the SIAC Preseason teams please visit the SIAC website. A brief overview of each team can be seen on the video below:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.